Celebrating Common Entrance

Congratulations to Year 8 who received their Common Entrance results on Friday. It is always a special occasion when the pupils and their teachers come together at the end of the day to celebrate the culmination of their time at Farleigh. After the excitement of sharing their results with each other and with their parents, the whole year group played in very friendly tennis and cricket matches – pairs made up of the Year 8 pupil with a parent, friend or relative. It was all played in great spirit with everyone enjoying the friendships, supportive banter and wonderful surroundings.

This year, of the 51-strong year group, seven pupils are going to Marlborough, six boys to Sherborne, five girls to Godolphin and five to St Mary’s Calne. Four girls are off to Sherborne Girls and four to St Mary’s Ascot, three boys to Ampleforth, to Downside and to Radley. Two boys are going to both Eton and King’s Bruton. The rest of the year group are going to Canford, Cheltenham College, Cheltenham Ladies’ College, Downe House, Harrow, Monmouth and Oundle.

Fourteen of these pupils have gained awards to their senior schools. Congratulations to you all.

Daisy Andreae Sport Scholarship to Godolphin School

Joey Burton All-Rounder Scholarship to Downside School

Charlie Burtt Major Music Scholarship to Sherborne School

Daisy Butterworth Bodinnar All-Rounder Scholarship to St Mary’s Calne

Robbie Eccles Sport Award to Sherborne School

Phoebe Hall All-Rounder Scholarship to St Mary’s Ascot

Jack Hall-Smith Music Scholarship to Marlborough College

Elijah Hennigan Basil Hume All-Rounder Scholarship for DT & Theatre to Ampleforth College

Alexander Kerr Drama Award to Sherborne School

Yvo Melotte Major Academic Scholarship & Sports Scholarship to Downside School

Bridget Mihell Academic Scholarship to Oundle School

Kitty Millar Art Exhibition to St Mary’s Calne

Millie Wills Sport Scholarship to Godolphin School

Ona Wright Beale Award (Academic) to Cheltenham Ladies’ College